June Totals

JuneTotals

June1

The upward trend has finally steadied and all I can do now is keep my fingers crossed that this journey isn’t nearing the end. I have a total of six books out but only one series and I know that taking advantage of my current momentum is the only way to keep it going. That’s why the most successful indie authors are putting out something new every six months in order to counter the ebb and flow of their sales. But I’m in school full time and I work full time and every day it gets harder and harder to show up and waste 9 hours of my life when I could be writing. But I have to be patient. I’ve never experienced success like this before and I’m not sure how long it will last. I need to be sure that it’s sustainable before I make any life-changing decisions.

If you’re an indie author who’s already made the decision to write full time how did you finally make that decision? What benchmark or end goal were you aiming for before you finally decided to take the leap? I think the smartest thing to do would be to monitor my progress for the next 6 months (6-8 months being the average amount of time it takes me to complete a novel) and see how much my sales fluctuate and how greatly they’re effected by a new release (specifically TGIB book 4, which I hope to release in spring of 2016). I hate reducing this experience to numbers but I can’t get ahead of myself. I have to be smart. I have to be patient. Very. Very. Patient…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “June Totals

  1. Keep it up. Good luck.

  2. Aubrey Cann says:

    Congrats on the continued sales! As one who’s been following your blog for a long time, it makes me so SO happy to see you have this success. You deserve it!

  3. If you haven’t already, making sure you check out Joanna Penn’s website. She is an indie author who went from working full time to being a full time writer and she has loads of free information on how to do this as well as some great books on making your writing a career. Her website is http://www.thecreativepenn.com. If you check it out, I’d love to hear how you get on.

    • Yes, very familiar with her advice. I was glued to her blog along with J.A. Konrath’s, Lindsay Buroker’s, and Kristen Lamb’s when I was first starting out in self-publishing. All four are such GREAT resources. Thanks for sharing the link for everyone here.

  4. Valerie says:

    Just wanted to say I loved “The Girl in Between”, and on my next paycheck, I plan on buying everything else you’ve written. Your characters feel real, your descriptions on the “Dream State” are so well done! I’m in my mid 40’s with 4 boys, and books are my escape, thank you for letting me live in yours!

    • Ohmygoodness!!!!! What a huge compliment. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the series so far!! Books are obviously my escape too. I was a closet writer for years so feedback like yours is what makes sharing my stories so worthwhile!!

  5. Wow! That’s amazing – you must be over the moon. Congrats and well done. I signed up to Nick’s blog, but I haven’t followed through though I’m going to now! My sales go up and down and I must admit that I’m coming up to the one year anniversary of the publication of the first book in my YA series and I’m getting frustrated that I’m not earning enough to enable me to continue writing full-time. I worked in the corporate world for years and was writing as a ‘hobby’ because with a 60 hour working week and very active kids and a husband who works nights, I never had time to do anything with my books. (I am in awe of the fact that you are managing to fit in so much and still pursue your dream.) A year ago I got an opportunity to take voluntary redundancy and I jumped at it. Being able to write full-time is a dream come true, and though it’s really hard work and my 60 hour weeks have turned into 90 hour weeks, I couldn’t be happier (with the exception of more sales so I can continue to live my dream!) I guess everyone has different goals and objectives and follows different paths to achievement. For me, if the opportunity to leave my job hadn’t arisen I don’t think I would have ever taken the plunge with my books. I needed that push and though it was risky to walk away from a well-paid job that I had held for 12 years, I still believe it was the right thing to do.

    Thanks for that great book reviewers list and I’ve already downloaded TGIB. I look forward to reading it. Thanks also for your great transparency regarding your publishing journey to date. It’s inspirational and has given me renewed focus which I desperately needed.

    I wish you continued success.

    • I apologize for the late reply!!!! I certainly hope that by now you’ve implemented some of Nick’s advice because it really is gold! Honestly, I think making the transition to full-time writer, financially, within one year of self-publishing is incredibly difficult and absolutely not the norm. I’ve been at it for three years now and things are just starting to happen for me. You’re really lucky that you have some time now to devote entirely to your writing even if it’s not quite supplementing that former income yet. I’m glad my blog can be a resource for you though! Transparency is my ultimate goal since I know how rare it is for some writers to be forthcoming, especially about sales. I hope you enjoy TGIB series!!!! Thanks so much for downloading it!!

Leave a Reply

