The Chronicles of Lumatere

Melina Marchetta is a goddess. She is one of my favorite authors in the ENTIRE world and one of the greatest in the YA genre. Even though I like to keep the recommendations on this blog to a minimum, mostly because it’s very rare for me to gush this hardcore, for all of my fellow authors and all of my fellow readers I just had to tell everyone about this series. The Chronicles of Lumatere is a fantasy series but like all of Marchetta’s novels, it’s a story about identity and finding your place in the world. So many people have fallen for Marchetta’s contemporary pieces but I still don’t think she’s ever received the recognition she truly deserves. Every single one of her books is so poignant and breathtakingly real and every time I finish reading one I learn so much, not only about the human spirit, but about myself. Jellicoe Road changed my life and Saving Francesca saved it. Growing up reading her novels served as a foundation for me, not only as a writer, but as a person and when I spotted my own flaws in her characters it helped me learn to accept them and more importantly love them. She is the pinnacle for me of everything I want to be and do and say as a writer and I think if every person on the planet read her books the world would be a more beautiful place.

I’d dabbled in reading the fantasy genre before but had never found anything that really grabbed me. I’ve always loved reading series and loved the idea of some epic journey of self-discovery but Marchetta’s mastery of contemporary fiction, combined with her foray into this new genre really put her in a league of her own. Because she’s fearless. She takes the most unworthy characters and turns them into heroes and she builds relationships where they don’t belong between people who seem too broken to be capable of such a thing. The Chronicles of Lumatere is pure magic and I guarantee that if you have a soul it will speak to it.

Finnikin of the Rock and his guardian, Sir Topher, have not been home to their beloved Lumatere for ten years. Not since the dark days when the royal family was murdered and the kingdom put under a terrible curse. But then Finnikin is summoned to meet Evanjalin, a young woman with an incredible claim: the heir to the throne of Lumatere, Prince Balthazar, is alive.

Evanjalin is determined to return home and she is the only one who can lead them to the heir. As they journey together, Finnikin is affected by her arrogance . . . and her hope. He begins to believe he will see his childhood friend, Prince Balthazar, again. And that their cursed people will be able to enter Lumatere and be reunited with those trapped inside. He even believes he will find his imprisoned father.

But Evanjalin is not what she seems. And the truth will test not only Finnikin’s faith in her . . . but in himself.

FOTRFOTEQOC

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “The Chronicles of Lumatere

  1. I’m going to go ahead and second this! I read The Lumatere Chronicles earlier this year and really enjoyed them. Quintara’s story was my favorite, but they were all really good 🙂

    • Holla! Yes, so good. Froi of The Exiles was actually my favorite. Like a lot of readers I was a little hesitant as to whether or not I’d be able to connect to him as the “hero” of his own story but I was in awe of the way Marchetta redeemed him by the end. This series really had everything and I even kept putting off reading because I didn’t want it to end! I definitely shed some ugly tears when it did though and I will miss it terribly.

  2. rlsharpe says:

    I heart Melina so much. Her books are so amazing. The Chronicles of Lumatere is one of my favourite series. I cannot stress how amazing these books are, how much I love them. I wish everyone would read them!

    • I wish everyone would read all of her books! They’re so transformative and especially for young girls. I just remember her female characters having such a positive impact on me when I was younger. She’s just one of those authors that everyone seems to agree is amazing and yet her novels aren’t paid as much attention as they truly deserve. The Jellicoe Road movie is a perfect example of this. Everyone reveres this book and yet the production process has been moving at a snails pace. I just don’t understand why people aren’t making as big of a deal out of it as they have other book to film adaptations.

      • rlsharpe says:

        Yes! I so agree. She deserves so much more attention! Jellicoe Road is so amazing and I can’t wait for the movie, and it is such a shame that people aren’t making a big deal out of the movie. Sigh.

  3. Julie Israel says:

    Ok. I am way overdue to check this author out.

    • WHAA!! Yes haha, you definitely need to get on that. She’s so good and her books really are something to savor. I’ve learned so much just from reading them.

  4. carlycornish says:

    “Jellicoe Road changed my life and Saving Francesca saved it.” I love this! I totally agree, Melina Marchetta is the goddess of Aus YA!

Leave a Reply

