Indie Blog Chain

I was tagged by the lovely Francis Guenette, author of Disappearing In Plain Sight, to participate in a blog hop to help connect and promote indie authors. Fran is definitely one of those indie authors helping to maintain our reputation as a kind and generous community and last year she was one of few who offered to read and review my latest release, Breathing Ghosts. Since then she’s been kind enough to host me on her blog to talk about self-publishing and if anyone is looking for another resource on the topic, I recommend you check out her blog.

Onto the questions…

What am I working on?

Right now I’m in the middle of writing my first trilogy! Not only that but it’s YA, which is not as…mature as my previous projects. It’s also my first attempt at something outside of contemporary fiction. I’ve just finished up the third draft of the second book and am in the middle of the first draft of the third which is sitting at 25,000 words.

How does my work differ from others in the genre?

Hmm…maybe because it sort of doesn’t have one yet? At least not definitively but my naivety is hoping that will actually give me an edge. This project has morphed from a psychological thriller to a paranormal romance to magical realism. At one point I tried to fit everything under one umbrella but the story, and particularly my characters, just had a mind of their own. At this stage of development there are elements of all three of these different genres plus a little fantasy and of course, a heavy romantic sub-plot. Luckily though, self-publishing has granted me the freedom to explore more “hybrid” genres and I’m hoping that readers will be able to connect to the story despite whatever labels may eventually be put on it.

Why do I write what I do?

I hate this question, mostly because we continue to ask it even though for most of us, the answer is constantly evolving. I’ve written about why I write what I write before and while all of those things still hold true, today I also write just because it brings me joy. Today I write because it’s the perfect way to spend a chilly afternoon. Yesterday I sat down at my laptop for the same reason and the day before that it was to distract myself from bills that were due. And on other days when I’m feeling thoughtful and prophetic I might say that I write because I have to, because my words are important and so am I. But I think, the true answer to this question is the same for all artists–we create because it feels good and when we’ve finished something, that first moment of stepping back to marvel at it feels even better.

How does my writing process work?

Yet another thing that’s constantly evolving. For my first three books I didn’t plot a thing which in a way was totally exhilarating but it also resulted in eight drafts of re-writes. These days I’m working to incorporate plotting more and more into my organic process, and although I do still like to be surprised by my characters, I’m realizing that my stories are much more cohesive from the start when I know what’s going to happen at least a few chapters ahead.

EJNow for the fun part. I’d like to introduce everyone to Elaine Jeremiah, author of The Inheritance, and yet another generous indie who was kind enough to be the FIRST to review my second novel, Orphans of Paradise. The novel has been out since July of last year and since I chose not to send it out for review it’s been a bit neglected. But then one day Elaine surprised me with an amazing review and I’ll be forever grateful that she took a chance on that story when no one else would. With that said I hope you’ll all check out her blog and follow her on her own journey as a self-published author.

I was a bit hard pressed to find another author to participate in this blog hop, so if you’re an indie author and you’d like to get in on the action, feel free to pose the above questions on your own blog, link back to this post, and then tag three of your fellow indies to keep spreading the word!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Indie Blog Chain

  1. Kev says:

    It’s great to get tagged. 🙂

  2. Thanks so much, Laekan, for carrying on this chain and tagging another writer.

Leave a Reply

