WIP Wednesday

NaNoWriMo is finally over and you’d think that I’d be hibernating somewhere or nursing a four-week-long hangover but alas I’m hard at work on revisions and hoping to carry all of that great juju into December.

First up, I started the millionth round of revisions on book 4. You’ll notice my fancy progress meter says I’m chipping away at the fourth draft but it’s a liar. I have re-worked this novel so many times that I’m beginning to despise it much sooner than usual, which is not good. But, luckily, then a beta reader will send me a really awesome email and I decide that I can stand it for a bit longer. Speaking of which, I know I’ve made this plea several times before and will probably make it again in the future, but if anyone out there wants to swap YA or NA projects at the end of this month let me know!

WIP-OOP-030613

After this round of revisions for book 4 are complete, I’ll be revising its sequel, which was also my Nano project. I came in just 6K shy of my goal but I still ended up with almost an 80,000 word manuscript which will be such fun to rip apart this month! And that is only me being partly sarcastic. Depending on my mood, sometimes actually having something to work with is such a relief. Other times it can be like sifting through muck. Muck filled with needles and…concrete. You get the picture. I just hope I’m in the ripping apart and stitching back together kind of mood or else this month will be hell.

WIP-BG-030613

And speaking of hell I’ll be starting TWO new novels this month. Yes, I said two. I don’t know why I thought this would be a good idea. I’ve never worked on more than one first draft at a time. But, despite my schedule already being set in stone, I got this idea a few nights ago and every time I think about it, I get this strange sick happy feeling that it could be…the one. So I’ve decided to give myself some time to explore it a little more and see how it goes.

But I’m not pushing myself to the brink of insanity for naught. This will probably sound strange, but I have this wonderfully terrifying feeling about 2014. Like maybe it’s supposed to be mine. My year to finally discover a way to do this whole writing thing for real. And while I’m planning to write until my hands are numb in a desperate attempt to chase down whatever success might be waiting for me, there is also a tiny part of me that is afraid. Not of failing, my dreams slipping through my fingers yet again, but of them actually coming true. Because sooner or later, I know they will.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

  1. I love the way you describe that strange, sick, happy feeling. Writing is such a mixed bag, isn’t it? Good luck with all you have on the go.

    • Exactly! But not only does writing take you on an emotional roller coaster; sometimes those emotions are totally foreign and make absolutely no sense. Overall, I do have a good feeling about this next project. I just hope the final product doesn’t disappoint. Thanks for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

