Nano 2013 Update

Or in other words…I’m back!! I had planned on blogging this month on top of doing Nano, but obviously that didn’t happen. My one year blogging anniversary came and went and even though I missed checking in and reading my newsfeed, I’ve realized that the short break was probably very much needed.

But onto my Nano stats…well…let me just say that whoever decided that NaNoWriMo should be held the same month as Thanksgiving was obviously on crack. Last weekend I only had 6K left to reach my goal and after traveling and visiting family over the holidays, by Saturday afternoon I still had 6K to go. And unfortunately it was my turn to drive which meant that I didn’t get any writing done in the car and when I got home I was so exhausted I went to sleep at 7 o’clock. But you know what? I’m okay with that. And at this point, for the sake of my health, I have to be. I still cranked out 44,000 words, which brought the total word count of my MS to almost 80,000, and that’s major! Lots of good stuff to work with come revision time and despite not “winning” Nano, I still feel incredibly proud to have accomplished so much in the past month on top of the holidays and going back to work.

All of that time away from blogging also gave me some time to think about upcoming projects and I’ve decided to carry all of that momentum from Nano into December. I’ll be editing two manuscripts and writing the first draft of a third, as well as devoting some time on the weekends to a very special project. So, with that being said, in order to give myself enough time to get all of those things accomplished (and also to celebrate my one year blogging anniversary!) I’ll be re-posting my favorite blog posts from the past year through the month of December. All of which will be leading up to a semi-exciting announcement just in time for Christmas!

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Nano 2013 Update

  1. Congrats on your NaNo word count. You may not have done 50k but you got close and that’s an achievement! I hope your writing continues to go well. 🙂

    • Thank you! I expected to feel more down about it than I actually do. But I’m just so satisfied with my progress so far that I don’t really feel like spoiling it. So what if I didn’t “win”? I still accomplished something worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

