In Need of a Book Binge

It’s time to officially end my unintended reading fast. I’ve been so absorbed in my writing, that when it finally started to grow stale last week, I didn’t even have to wonder why. I used to devour books. They’re what inspired me to start writing in the first place, and yet for the past year I haven’t been reading as much as I used to. And I miss it.

I decided that I was in dire need of a book binge and so the entire month of September will be devoted to me getting back on the reading “horse.”

Here’s what’s been patiently waiting on my e-reader:

Last Night I Sang to The Monster by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

L

Zach is eighteen. He is bright and articulate. He’s also an alcoholic and in rehab instead of high school, but he doesn’t remember how he got there. He’s not sure he wants to remember. Something bad must have happened. Something really, really bad. Remembering sucks and being alive – well, what’s up with that?

I have it in my head that when we’re born, God writes things down on our hearts. See, on some

people’s hearts he writes Happy and on some people’s hearts he writes Sad and on some people’s hearts he writes Crazy on some people’s hearts he writes Genius and on some people’s hearts he writes Angry and on some people’s hearts he writes Winner and on some people’s hearts he writes Loser. It’s all like a game to him. Him.God. And it’s all pretty much random. He takes out his pen and starts writing on our blank hearts. When it came to my turn, he wrote Sad. I don’t like God very much. Apparently he doesn’t like me very much either.

The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta

P

Award-winning author Melina Marchetta reopens the story of the group of friends from her acclaimed novel Saving Francesca – but five years have passed, and now it’s Thomas Mackee who needs saving. After his favorite uncle was blown to bits on his way to work in a foreign city, Tom watched his family implode. He quit school and turned his back on his music and everyone that mattered, including the girl he can’t forget. Shooting for oblivion, he’s hit rock bottom, forced to live with his single, pregnant aunt, work at the Union pub with his former friends, and reckon with his grieving, alcoholic father. Tom’s in no shape to mend what’s broken. But what if no one else is either? An unflinching look at family, forgiveness, and the fierce inner workings of love and friendship, The Piper’s Son redefines what it means to go home again

Here’s what I’m putting on hold at my local library:

The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak

B

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

 

 

 

 

Divergent by Veronica Roth

D

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into fiv

e factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her

E

Every Day by David Levithan

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “In Need of a Book Binge

  1. Some awesome choices here!!!! You’re going to have a lot of fun 🙂

  2. Just so you know, I’m with you on the book binge idea. I’ve noticed my writing has gone stale also and I know it’s because I’m not reading enough. So I’m going to devote September as a reading month also, even if its just a couple of hours a day.

    Good book choices too 🙂

    • That’s how Im tackling it. I’m reading about fifty pages a day once I’ve gotten all my writing done. It’s just day two but I already feel so much better. I go through phases like this though where reading sometimes takes a back seat for a while. I’m never sure why but once I get back into it I’m always surprised that I fell off the wagon in the first place.

  3. […] posts this week that helped me get back into reading. The first was from Laekan, an author who said she was in need of a book binge this month. After seeing the books she intended to read and why she wanted to read them I […]

Leave a Reply

