Comparison Kills

Comparison is a thief. It’s a liar. It’s a crutch.

And we all do it. It’s almost second nature. The moment we meet someone we size them up. We hear about someone else’s success and we compare it to our own. We hate our bodies because they don’t look like the photo-shopped versions we see in magazines. We don’t believe we’re smart enough, talented enough, brave enough, strong enough, good enough to do something because the other people who have—who’ve accomplished that one thing we’re dying to do—are different, better somehow. But that’s a lie.

It’s all lies.

Comparison makes us see faults that aren’t really there. It makes us fear things we shouldn’t. It makes us question our own self-worth which is pointless when you stop to consider the fact that you are here. You are here and you are alive and that is no accident. You are not an accident. Here. Now. In this body. In this life. You are not an accident.

It’s a crutch.

Dwelling on all of the ways you don’t think you measure up is just another excuse for not reaching your true potential. Comparing yourself to others leads to dissatisfaction which leads to fear which leads to complacency. If you don’t think you can reach your goals in a state of imperfection then guess what? You never will. But if you could let go of the fear of not being good enough, if you could let go of the fear of failing, if you could just let go and let yourself be you then maybe you might surprise yourself. Maybe you might find out that you’re wrong. That you are good enough. But you’ll never know unless you try.

It’s a thief

When we constantly compare ourselves to others, we’re not just sabotaging our own happiness, we’re sabotaging our own self-discovery. Life is about finding out who you are, your talents, your dreams, your purpose—the things that make you tick. But when you find yourself dissatisfied with how your gifts compare to someone else’s, you’re missing the point. It’s not about what you have in this life, it’s about what you do with the things you have. What you can give.

And anyone and everyone can give. That’s all we’re put on this earth to do. You may be good at writing, or working on cars, or teaching, or gardening, or listening, or making people laugh but in the end, at the core of every desire and every dream is giving. So give. Stop letting your fear stop you. Stop letting comparison steal your joy and your ability to discover yourself. Stop letting it steal your ability to give.

Comparison is a thief and a liar and crutch but you don’t have to drink that poison. You can ignore the artificial expectations of the world and you can take back your joy. I wrote this because, even though I know it’s the absolute truth, sometimes I need to be reminded of my own misconceptions. Sometimes we all do.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Comparison Kills

  1. indytony says:

    I really like this post (but mine is better). 🙂

  2. Thank you for your inspirational message!

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Comparison does have the way of stealing joy. So many times, I’ve been happy with my accomplishments…until I see someone that has done better 🙂 I’ve gotten better about not letting others’ success cast a shadow on mine, but it still catches me sometimes.

    • It’s definitely hard. Sometimes my only defense is avoiding things that cause comparison completely–which is most of the world haha. I’m still working on getting a thicker skin and learning to be proud of my own accomplishments. I’ve even tried to make it a kind of mantra when I’m writing and it’s actually helped. By pausing every once in a while to just reflect on how hard I’ve worked and how far I’ve come and letting myself feel proud of that, I’ve started to really acknowledge that my gifts are unique and that’s why they matter. Even if what I write isn’t perfect, it matters because I matter.

Leave a Reply

