Inspiring Blogger Award

very-inspiring-blogger-award

Again? Really? Are you sure? I don’t know why I’m still surprised that anyone is paying attention. I see the amazing comments people are leaving on my posts, the generous pingbacks, the likes. But sometimes when I’m writing a new post I get this feeling that it’s nothing new, that somewhere, someone else has had the exact same revelation, that they’ve probably already expressed it in a much better way than I ever could. That this person is wise and successful and has probably already written 20 books compared to my 1.8.

But maybe that’s the point. Maybe that’s why you notice. Because the things I’m sharing, the things I’m writing about are nothing new but it’s that synchronicity, that connectivity that can make something so universal feel special again. Because it is. And maybe that’s why it’s universal. We writers are all sharing in this struggle to create something beautiful, something worthwhile and I just hope that my blog can continue to be a place of honest reflection and constant encouragement. So thank you to Tracy for nominating me for this award and thank you to everyone who has stopped by my blog and actually taken the time to read these words. It means the world to know I’m not alone in this and I hope it’s a relief to know that you aren’t either.

Rules for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.
2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
3. State 7 things about yourself.
4. Nominate 15 bloggers for this award.
5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination by linking to one of their specific posts so that they get notified by pingback.

Seven Things About Laekan Zea Kemp

1. I don’t like coffee or alcohol. I know, I know. A writer who doesn’t like coffee or booze? Hey, at least I’m not a cliché.
2. I do most of my writing while I’m at work–in emails, on post-it notes, and on my phone.
3. I’m a freak for The History Channel.
4. I can quote every line from the movie Zoolander.
5. I was Lakitu for Halloween.
6. I had braces for 5 years. Yes, tragic.
7. My favorite color is green.

(These are all blogs I follow personally–mostly writers since being a writer is hard and doing things that are hard is, by definition, inspirational.)

My Nominees for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award:

1. Michelle Muckley
2. Lauryn April
3. Melanie
4. Raimy
5. Rachel Kolman
6. Kelli Killion
7. Ruth Layne
8. Julie Israel
9. Kat Anthony
10. J.A. Ward
11. Chynna-Blue
12. Carlyn Ross
13. Megh Fitz
14. Michelle Mason
15. Linda Taylor

Need a little inspiration today? Click HERE and prepare to be pep-talked!

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Hi Laekan, thanks for the shout-out and nomination! I’m honored. Like you, I’m just working away at this thing we call writing, hoping that it matters. I also love Zoolander (‘It’s a walk-off”) and had braces as an adult (a little over two years, but in my late 40s). Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. raimyd says:

    #2, #3, & #4 I can totally relate! It’s nice to get to know you a little better, I’m really enjoying your blog 🙂

  3. Melanie says:

    Hi! So, wow! Is it okay for a writer to say she has no words? I, too, am honored. And a little bit over-whelmed. Thank you for your inspiration and for the nomination. I’ll see what I can pull together.

  4. carlynross says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination. Also, the movie Zoolander is one of my favorites. I quote it to people at least once a week, and I only receive dumbfounded stares. One day, someone will understand. One day. *deep sigh*

  5. tracycembor says:

    You are very welcome Laekan. Sharing in the writerly struggle is a noble pastime. We should continue the tradition. Also, my favorite color is yellow.

  6. Haha it’s nice to see there are so many fellow Zoolander fans out there. I remember watching the movie for the first time in 5th grade and thinking I understood all of the inappropriate jokes and sexual innuendo even though I didn’t even know what the word innuendo meant, or sexual. And since then I think I’ve probably watched it a thousand times!

  7. L. Marie says:

    Congrats on this award! How awesome!

  8. […] for this award!! For those of you who don’t know, she is the recipient of The Liebster Award, The Inspiring Blogger Award, and The Next Big Thing Award. If you haven’t do so yet, go check her out at […]

Leave a Reply

